“Local Collections, Collective Context: Managing Print Collections in the Age of Collaboration.”

ALCTS ALA Annual virtual preconference: “Local Collections, Collective Context: Managing Print Collections in the Age of Collaboration.”
(June 4-6, 2012 )

“All sessions begin at 2 p.m. Eastern, 1 p.m. Central and 11 a.m. Pacific time.

Emerging shared print initiatives are making it possible for libraries to manage local collections in a collaborative environment. While there are many potential benefits to shared collection management—providing access to more comprehensive collections than a library could build on its own, ensuring preservation through distributed responsibility and freeing up stacks space for other uses—this opportunity presents many challenges as well. How does an individual institution responsibly manage its collection to participate in a regional or national collection? How do libraries make decisions about local collections in the context of consortial, regional and national priorities?”

 

Advertisements

Comments are closed.